Home » Movies » See the Nominees For the 10th Edition of the AMVCA

See the Nominees For the 10th Edition of the AMVCA

Posted by


The nominees for the 10th edition of the AMVCA are in!

AMVCA is an award show presented by MultiChoice recognizing outstanding performances in television, film, entertainment, and now in digital content creation throughout Nollywood and the entire African content.

This year, the AMVCA Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, and Best Supporting Actress categories will be determined by a jury, rather than public votes. The Jury will be led by Femi Odugbemi.

Here’s the full list:

Best Director

1. Adebayo Tijani & Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun)

2. BB Sasore (Breath of Life)

3. Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)

4. C. J. Fiery Obasi (Mami Wata)

5. Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)

6. Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)

7. Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)

Best Movie

1. A Tribe Called Judah

2. Mami Wata

3. Jagun Jagun (Adebayo Tijani)

4. Breath of Life (BB Sasore)

5. Over The Bridge (Tosin Otudeko)

6. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Tunde Babalola)

7. The Black Book

Best Screenplay (Movie):

1. A Tribe Called Judah (Olufunke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh and Akinlabi Ishola)

2. Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)

3. Jagun Jagun (Adebayo Tijani)

4. Breath of Life (BB Sasore)

5. Over The Bridge (Tosin Otudeko)

6. Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Tunde Babalola)

7. Afamefuna (Anyanwu Sandra Adaora)

Best Documentary:

1. Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)

2. Lobola, A Bride’s True Price?

3. Empalikino (Forgiveness)

4. The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water for Gold)

5. Sowing Hope

Best MultiChoice Talent Factory:

1. Grown

2. Her Dark Past

3. Somewhere In Kole

4. Full-Time Husband

5. The 11th Commandment

6. Mfumukazi

Best Scripted M-Net Original:

1. The Slum King

2. Half Open Window

3. Itura

4. The Passenger

5. Magic Room

Best Digital Content:

1. Layi Wasabi (Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement)

2. Taooma (The Boyfriend)

3. Lizzy Jay (National Treasure)

4. Elozonam, Jemima Osunde & Angelina Idoko (Hello Neighbour)

Best Unscripted M-Net Original:

1. What Will People Say

2. Date My Family Zambia

3. Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)

4. Royal Qlique (Season 2)

5. The Irabors’ Forever After

Best Indigenous Language (West Africa):

1. Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)

2. Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo)

3. Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)

4. Orisa (Odunlade Adekola

5. Nana Akoto (Kwabana Gyansah)

Best Indigenous Language (East Africa):

1. Where The River Divides

2. Wandongwa

3. Nakupenda

4. Itifaki

5. Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)

Best Indigenous Language (Southern Africa):

1. Service to Heart

2. Uncle Limbani

3. Motshameko O Kotsi

Best Costume Design:

1. Daniel Obasi

2. Demola Adeyemi

3. Bolanle Austin Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker and Clement Effanga

4. Lola Awe

5. Bunmi Demilola Fashina

Best Indigenous M-Net Original:

1. The Passenger

2. Nana Akoto

3. Apo

4. Irora Iya

5. Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)

Best Short Film:

1. Broken Mask

2. Eighteenth Year

3. Man and Masquerades

4. A Place Called Forward

5. T’egbon T’aburo

Best Supporting Actress:

1. Joke Silva (Over The Bridge)

2. Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)

3. Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun)

4. Genovevah Umeh (Breath of Life)

5. Tana Egbo-Adelana (Ijogbon)

6. Ejiro Onajaife (Madam Koikoi)

7. Eliane Umuhire (Omen)

Best Lead Actor:

1. Richard Mofe-Damijo (The Black Book)

2. Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)

3. Stan Nze (Afamefuna)

4. Marc Zinga (Omen)

5. Lateef Adedimeji (Jagun Jagun)

6. Gabriel Afolayan (This is Life)

7. David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)

8. Gideon Okeke (Egun)

Best Lead Actress:

1. Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)

2. Adaobi Dibor (Blood Vessel)

3. Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

4. Kehinde Bankole (Adire)

5. Evelyne IIy (Mami Wata)

6. Omowumi Dada (Asiri Ade)

7. Segilola Ogidan (Over The Bridge)

8. Lucie Debay (Omen)

Best Supporting Actor:

1. Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)

2. Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)

3. Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)

4. Itele D Icon (Jagun Jagun)

5. Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)

6. Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)

7. Ropo Ewenla (Over The Bridge)

Best Cinematography:

1. Mami Wata

2. Jagun Jagun

3. Ijogbon

4. Blood Vessel

5. Breath of Life

6. Over The Bridge

7. Omen

Best Editing:

1. Chuka Ejorh and Onyekachi Banjo

2. Holmes Awa

3. Alex Kamau and Victor Obok

4. Dayo Nathaniel

5. Antonio Ribeiro

6. Nathan Delannoy

Best Sound Design:

1. Ava Momoh (Over the Bridge)

2. Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (Kipkemboi)

3. Grey Jones Ossai (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)

4. Samy Bardet (Mami Wata)

Best Art Direction:

1. Mami Wata (C.J Fiery Obasi)

2. Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)

3. Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade)

4. Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)

5. The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)

6. Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)

7. Omen (Eve Martin)

Best Makeup:

1. Feyisayo Oyebisi (A Tribe Called Judah)

2. Francesca Otaigbe (Over the Bridge)

3. Campbell Precious (Mami Wata)

4. Hadizat Gambo (Mojisola)

5. Hakeem Onilogbo (Jagun Jagun)

Best Screenplay TV Series:

1. Skinny Girls in Transit (s7)
Bunmi Ajakaiye
Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi
Abdul Tijani- Ahmed

2. Wura (s2)
Jeffery David Musa
Olumide Kuti
Esther Oyiza Kokori

3. Visa On Arrival
Bovi Ugboma

4. MTV Shuga Naija
Staying Alive Foundation

5. Volume
Mona Ombogo

6. Masquerades of Aniedo
Timendo Aghahowa
Motunde Akiode

7. Slum King
Donald Tombia
Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi
Fatimah Binta Gimsay
Xavier Ighordje


Tolu Ajayi’s Over the Bridge leads with 12 nominations including; Best Movie, Best Director, and Best Lead Actress is the most nominated film this year, followed by CJ Fiery Obasi’s Mami Wata snagged 11 AMVCA nominations. Breath of Life and Jagun Jagun got 10 nominations each.

The annual AMVCA ceremony for 2024 will be held in Lagos, Nigeria in May and broadcast live on all Africa Magic channels. Watch the video below to find out how to vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *